Blog Catch Up with Vino! AND: A Recipe for Roasted Tomato Bolognese

I know I have at least one recipe along with some really delishious ingredients to share and discuss. I’m a little behind because of our trip last weekend. Long weekends really throw things off! Not that I’m complaining 😉 .

As I sit here thinking about my dinner from last night and how I should share, I am sipping a (large) glass of vino that we ordered through Astor Wines Top 12 Under $12 March box. This is a case of wine you can order month to month as you wish, which delivers a variety of 12 wines. Each wine comes with a full description including acidity,  flavor,  body, tannins, and most importantly, how to appropriately pair the wine with food. Tonight, while I type my heart out to you all, I am enjoying a 2011 Viento Aliseo Graciano from Dominio de Penctum. Now mind you, these aren’t insanely fancy wines. Remember- they are 12 under $12! So they are “good deal” wines. Let’s just say it’s a notch or two above TJ’s (that’s Trader Joe’s for those of you who live in a cave or the Dakota’s, for example). The wine that I am drinking this evening goes particularly well with writing, and with left overs from last nights experiment: Macaroni Bolognese (yeah you read it right- Macaroni!). Poor macaroni- it gets such a bad rap thanks to Kraft Macaroni and Cheese; Although I will never understand this because I LOVE florescent orange Kraft Mac & Cheese. How does it get so Orange? I digress…

(I’m embarrassed to admit that there is in fact a “WordPress” book underneath the bottle of wine.)

On Monday night we arrived home after a long flight and a bumpy cab ride from LGA to our cozy UES apt. Upon arrival, we were handed our Quinciple box that had arrived! One of my favorite pieces out of this box, which I sadly just finished, was the jar of Sweet Cured Black Chalkidiki Olives imported from the Aegean Coast of Greece by Qupia Foods in Brooklyn, NY. Box Photos:

So last night (like I said, I was pretty behind), I decided to make “Roasted Tomato Bolognese.” The recipe was provided by Quinciple, but I improvised… A LOT. One thing I like to joke around about the Quinciple recipes is that they give you “quintuple times.” This is frustrating to me because usually however long they suggest cooking something, it usually needs to be QUADRUPLED. Anyway, you guys can trust me. Or if you find times work differently when/if you try, please let me know! I’m happy to accept constructive criticism!

ROASTED TOMATO BOLOGNESE:

Ingredients:

Start out by chopping and separating all ingredients. It makes your life easier.

IMG_5225

Heat oven to 350 F. Drain whole tomatoes and SAVE the liquid. Set liquid aside. Put tomatoes in a roasting pan and add EVOO, garlic, chili flakes, St. Lucifer seasoning, salt and peppa. Place in middle rack of oven.

IMG_5227

 

Begin to boil water for pasta.

Side note: Make sure to adequately salt the water. This is the only chance you have to season the pasta. I like the water to resemble ocean water. I love when the pasta tastes really salty by itself. Then, I am very frugal when salting the rest of the dish.

In your dutch oven, heat up 4 Tbsp EVOO until shimmering. Add vegetables and sauté for 5 minutes- unit fragrant and nicely colored. Add ground beef and break up with a wooden spoon. Add garlic chili paste and tomato paste. Make sure to “wake up” the paste’s at the bottom of the pan. Stir and brown the beef – about 7 minutes.  Add red wine and left over tomato sauce and stir. Bring to a boil for 2 minutes, then reduce to simmer. Remove whole tomatoes out of the oven. Chop as desired and pour into dutch oven. Simmer for at least 15 to 20 minutes. You may add salt and peppa to taste. Around 15 minutes of simmering, add a Tbsp or so of EVOO to 1/2cup Locatelli cheese to make the cheese into a paste. Add this to the sauce. Once incorporated, add Oregano and Parsley.  This is also a perfect time to begin cooking the pasta in the salty pot of boiling water. Sfoglini Pasta takes about 5 minutes to become al dente.

Side note: If using regular dried pasta such as Barilla, make sure to add this to the boiling water a few minutes earlier because it takes longer to cook. Follow directions on the pasta box, but be warned, al dente can sometimes come a few minutes before the recommended cooking tome on the box.

Drain pasta with a bowl beneath the colander to conserve pasta water and add pasta to the sauce. This left over starchy water may be added to the final product in case the pasta absorbs a lot of the sauce and looks “dry” once it is added.

Serve pasta in warm bowls. Top with as much Pecorino as your heart desires!

Mangia!!!

 

 

 

Hope you enjoy! Please comment if you have any questions. Send me pics of your creations!

xoxo MCN

 

About miacucinanyc

To put it simply: A Food Journey- From my kitchen to yours… <3 Through NYC and Beyond <3 Come, mangia with me!
This entry was posted in Pasta, Photography, Recipe, Vino and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blog Catch Up with Vino! AND: A Recipe for Roasted Tomato Bolognese

  1. Pingback: Citrusy Spring Salad- With Warm Endive and Walnuts | Mia Cucina NYC

Leave a Reply

