Broad Street Run- Philadelphia

Broad Street Race 2014

35th Anniversary

Hi everyone! I don’t want to make excuses, but I want to apologize for not having posted in almost one week! I promise to have a recipe up by the end of the day tomorrow. Scouts Honor! Part of my excuse is that I took a mini trip to Philadelphia over the weekend, where I completed my 5th year (in a row!) Broad Street Run 10 mile race! We used to live in Philadelphia, and 5 years ago, Broad St became my first long distance run ever! Of course that year it was record high heat and I swore off long runs forever!!! About 10 long distance races later……

This year, the Borad Street Race celebrated it’s 35th year in the running and it only becomes more fun each time. Over 40,000 people passed through the finish line (probably more like 50,000!) I’m embarrassed to tell you that I barely trained, so my time wasn’t awesome, but I am proud to say I at least ran the entire time! No walking! Now I can eat whatever I want for the week, right? Uhhh wait, that’s not how it works? Damn it! Anyway, here are some photos from the weekend to hold you over until tomorrow when I will share Quinciple’s Confetti Salad Recipe along with some of my own additions 😉

Peanut Chews are actually native to Philadelphia! And they are UH-MAZING. If you haven’t – DO IT! Believe it or not, they were originally used by the US military as ration bars during WWI!

After running Broad Street, Brunch is a MUST! This year we indulged at Talula’s Garden in Philadelphia (one of our favorites!).

Until tomorrow!!

xoxo MCN

About miacucinanyc

To put it simply: A Food Journey- From my kitchen to yours… <3 Through NYC and Beyond <3 Come, mangia with me!
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Brunch, Photography, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

