Asian PersuAsian

I feel sometimes like I’m always apologizing to you people! 🙂 Mostly because I would like to provide you with delicious, easy, healthy (ish), usually quick recipes 7 days a week! But alas, I am only human. This will be my last recipe post for a while. I am traveling on a food journey to Japan (the country! Not in Disney) next week. I will be sure to keep ya’ll updated with the deliciousness that will be passing through my lips and seen by my eyes. I have so much to share today! Over the weekend I went to Art Frieze which was pretty awesome over on Randall’s Island. Here is a little peek:

 

Very fittingly, I made Japanese and Korean flavor inspired pasta last night. Thanks to my buddies at Quinciple for supplying the recipe and the AMAZING (I’m OBsesseddd) Sfoglini pasta that came tucked in my Quiciple box on Monday. I had a goal to use all of the produce on our fridge last night so as not to waste anything. I have also been dabbling with baking a tiny bit. I won’t supply you with the recipes, but will add the links. Enjoy!

 

Buckwheat Radiators with Burdock, Crispy Shitakes and Asparagus

I also used some of the extra Pasta and Asparagus to make a small spin-off Pasta- Buckwheat Radiators (from now will be referred to as BWR’s) with asparagus, EVOO and Créme Fraîche

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 lb Buckwheat Radiators (1/2 lb for burdock shitake pasta; 1/4 lb for Créme Fraîche) *Save Pasta water after boiling!!*
  • 2 pieces Burdock peeled and cut into thin discs
  • 1/3 lb Shitake Muchrooms, de-stemmed and sliced medium-thin. Do not wash. Just brush dirt away with moist paper towel.
  • 1 Bunch Asparagus with the ends cut off and discarded.
  • 3-4 TBSP green garlic minced (2 TBSP for burdock shitake pasta; 2 TBSP for Asparagus prep)
  • 1-2 TBSP Bonji (to taste. Bonji is similar to Soy Sauce but not as salty tasting and has a very in depth flavor)
  • 3 leave Shiso cut into thin ribbons (to taste; I LOVE shiso, it tastes like a mint leave but more mild)
    1/4 cup EVOO plus extra if needed
  • 1 TBSP Sugar
  • 1 TBSP Red Wine Vinegar
  • 1 whopping TBSP of Créme Fraîche
  • Salt & Peppa

Sake Pairing: Sayuri Unfiltered Sake (Sayuri mean “a little lilly” in Japanese! And the Bottle is PINK! STOP IT! How cute?!)

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Prep ingredients.

Place Asparagus in baking dish, drizzle EVOO and season with 2 TBSP green garlic, salt and pepper. Bake in oven for 10 minutes. Heat up a non-stick 12 inch skillet with 2 TBSP EVOO and add Burdock. Cook for about 2 minutes, add 2 TBSP water to pan and cover with lid to allow the burdock to steam until tender, about 5-7 minutes. Remove lid and let all of the water cook off.  Add green Garlic, and cook another minute longer, until garlic is fragrant. Remove from pan and set aside.

Using the same pan, add another TBSP or so of EVOO, and add Shitakes. At this point, begin to boil 3 Qt of salted water in a pot for the Pasta. Cook Shitake’s until tender, then add Bonji, vinegar and sugar. Be sure to incorporate all ingredients thoroughly. Let the mushrooms cook until they begin to caramelize and become crispy (about 10 minutes). Once water is boiling, add pasta and cook until al dente. Drain, saving pasta water for sauce. When the Asparagus is finished, remove from oven and cut into 1 inch pieces being very careful since it is HOT! Add  2/3 of the pasta and 3/4 of the asparagus and the burdock mixture to the shitakes in the pan. Drizzle 1/4 EVOO to pasta. Add 1/2 to 1 cup of pasta water and mix. Taste, and add more Bonji if needed. Sprinkle Shiso over top.  Seperate into warmed serving bowls.

For the second pasta: PLace the remining 1/3 pasta into a medium bowl with remaing asparahus. Mixx in Créme Fraîche, salt and peppa, some EVOO. you may add some Shiso on top of this as well if you desire.  

Mangia!

 

Here is a pic of some of my recent baking experiments. The first is Ultimate Chocolate Cupcakes with Ganache Filling (my mouth just watered) and Vanilla Butter Cream Meringue Frosting thanks to Cook’s Illustrated Online. They turned out Uh-Mazing! And were actually really easy. Most of the ingredients any chef would have. Just buy some fancy chocolate bars and some Hershey Cocoa and Voila! Easy-Peasy cupcakes!

Last night I made Ricotta Cookies with Lemon Glaze Frosting and HOLY YUM! I just used a recipe I found online from Giada on Food Network. They turned out INCREDIBLE. One hint- I used fresh Ricotta, not that crap they try to pawn of as Ricotta in the dairy isle of the grocery store. Ricotta cheese is fairly easy to make, but a lot of grocery stores such as Whole Foods and Fairway Market make it fresh to buy. I will add cookie pics tomorrow  🙂

xoxo MCN

About miacucinanyc

To put it simply: A Food Journey- From my kitchen to yours… <3 Through NYC and Beyond <3 Come, mangia with me!
This entry was posted in Kitchen Tips, Pasta, Photography, Salad and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Asian PersuAsian

  1. Cupcakes!! Yummy!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

